The Break-In


The Break-In

David and I had been out and as we walked back into the house ‘Toby, we’re hooooome!’ I noticed some of the drawers on the floor and all sorts of stuff laying about.

‘Were you looking for something?’

‘No, someone broke into my house.’

So after many years of trying not to make the worst possible remarks (I have a few in my name), I did it again…

.

They had come in through the one open window, taken the bug screen out and stomped through Dave and my bedroom first. Everything had been thrown around and all drawers pulled out. A pile of quarters and dimes had been swept off the table and taken. Toby’s bedroom and the living room had been turned upside-down. Strangely though, large items of value had been left behind! Both our laptops had been out and were untouched. In the end all that was taken was about 50 dollars in cash.

.

What a disruption of a person’s personal space and sense of safety for a flimsy hand full of change! Some things were broken and suddenly you feel like you’re being watched every time you step out the door.

.

Toby related that the police had taken his DNA to separate that from any evidence found (they’re very thorough here) and how they’d even taken fingerprints. Wow, fingerprints huh? Where did they found them?

.

Well, there was a perfect print of a whole hand on the outside of your window! So they took a full four prints off that one. These guys just couldn’t believe their luck!

.

.

The Fingerprint

It took a while before I remembered that I’d planted that exact print there not two days before… I had been fooling around and, wanting to scare David, had sneaked around the back of the house to where our bedroom was and slapped the window while pulling a scary face in the dark.

.

The Fingerprint

The Fingerprint

.

Nice going, Marjo! They just took your bloody fingerprints (of the right hand I might add) at customs… You’ve been in the country but haven’t checked into a hotel since. The cops are coming to take you in tomorrow!

.

The L.A.P.D. (Los Angeles Police Department) is known nation wide as the most brutal police force of the country.

.

I could just about imagine them pulling up to me on the side walk -sirens wailing and all- and wrestle me to the ground to read me my rights (YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO SHUT UP!!!) and throw me in jail. So much for hoping to migrate here…

.

I felt compelled to call the police and explain how my print had got there, but Toby made a good point by saying they would likely not take my word for it. Better just to let it go and see what happens.

.

So every time I use my credit card I look over my shoulder in anticipation of that unmistakeable black-and-white Ford sedan pulling up with screeching tires to get me.

…..

.4588244592_b1c82d83ae_z.

.

Categories: Most Popular, North America

Leave a Reply

